Posted on

Be Ready for Week 2, a different kind of “survivor week”

Greetings all. I’m preparing everything tonight for this week’s installment of Nine Weeks of Strange. The central story is “I Don’t Hope for the Trees”, a story about a woman confronting her father about years of childhood sexual abuse. 

As I’ll talk about in tomorrow’s excerpt reading, I am a survivor of sexual abuse, and the story is the only one that is partly true in this book because of that fact. I have never confronted my father, and don’t intend to, for reasons I can talk about later with those who are interested in listening/reading about it. This is a fictionalized account of what I have imagined a confrontation would be like, and I also thought about the embodiments of all the feelings that that experience brought to me, from the ugliest to the most positive. 

This is a week that is VERY important to me, because I really, really, want to reach out to the people who need to hear the message in this story. This is not a week that is about “me” or my “book” or any of that, this is a story that is dedicated to the strength and perserverence in all of us, to the fact that trusting and loving yourself is paramount to succeeding in life, and that, most importantly, YOU ARE NOT ALONE. If you are going through the myriad of repercussions from abuse, or are at the side of someone who is, please believe you won’t feel this way forever. There is hope, help, and success.

April is Sexual Assault Awareness and Prevention Month. Please take advantage of the tools, articles, resources, inspirational info and much more that I will be posting this week, ESPECIALLY IF YOU DON’T KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT SURVIVORHOOD. I can’t stress this enough. Education on the side of those who are not survivors is JUST as important as education for those who are survivors.

I will also be posting the FULL STORY short story tomorrow, to accompany the excerpt I’ll be reading. Please pay attention to the end. It is dedicated to all of us, survivors or not. 

Your friend to the left, 

Celeste

About womeninstrangeplaces

I am a writer and artist from New York City. I live in Oslo, Norway. I dedicate my work to promoting literacy, experimentation and expression, women's empowerment, and awareness against sexual violence. I do my best to do what my gut tells me at all times, and on weekends, I go dancing.

One response to “Be Ready for Week 2, a different kind of “survivor week”

  1. Pingback: Story Post: “I Don’t Hope for the Trees” « Women in Strange Places

Leave a Reply

