Posted on

Survivor Resources. This is NOT gender-specific.

Welcome back. 

A few people have tried to leave me comments on the last post, but they’re not coming through 😦 I’m working on getting that fixed. As I’d said in the last entry, for now do email me womeninstrangeplaces@gmail.com. If you want to remain anon, one thing you can do is post a comment on my OLD blog, womeninstrangeplaces.blogspot.com, and I will get the email stating someone left me a comment. At least that way I won’t miss you and your thoughts. 

On to resources. There’ll be more throughout the week as I gather them.

Please note, as I’d mentioned in my last YouTube post, sexual abuse and survivorhood is not gender-specific, and it is not something that just happens in heterosexual culture. Women rape women, men rape women, women rape men, men rape men… Sexual violence and abuse absolutely exists in queer culture, transgender culture, intersex culture, everything. Why? Because rape is not about sexuality or gender, it is about power and control, and these are HUMAN issues.

Links:

Rape, Abuse, & Incest National Network: RAINN has tons of information on getting help, getting involved, as well as hotlines and articles.

AfterSilence: A message board and net community for survivors. There is a woman’s section and a man’s section. It’s a very sweet community, and the admins are knowledgeable and strict about privacy and so on, and the board also has a good list of resources too.

MaleSurvivor: A wonderful and uplifting site for male survivors. Back before I knew any male survivors I found this site and I scanned through it to try and get an understanding of what it is like for men. I left feeling very educated. From the public-area sections of message board, it seems like the guys here are mixed in regard to sexuality and experiences with abuse, and are incredibly helpful and present with one another.

KaliMunro: This link is directed to an article about mother/son abuse, but the full site is INDISPENSABLE. There’s information here for survivors of all paths and types, at all stages of recovery, and there’s also resources for people that feel trapped in abusive relationships (physically, mentally, emotionally, financially abusive, etc.). Kali is wonderful to read. I did some of her exercises on rebuilding self-esteem, and I taught them to some friends and it really works. Beautiful site.

Voices of Strength: A beautiful site with resources for women and men. There is also a section for books and film resources. Great  material here.

Miss America by Day: Marilyn Van Derbur, previously only known for being Miss America, is now an incredibly inspirational teacher and speaker to survivors of abuse. Her book changed SO much for me, I can’t express it enough how much I think that book is very important to have. It is mainly aimed at the female survivor, with many sections that accurately describe what it’s like to block memories, recover them, and deal with depression and the myriad other problems that arise from it. She also has a VERY EDUCATIONAL section in the back aimed at safeguarding and educating your children.

Carol Boulware, MFT, Ph.D.’s list of books for survivors of all paths: A VERY strong list of books for people at all stages of recovery. There are some good resources here for male survivors.

WAVAW Network: This is Washington-based site with some good statistical information and links to other national resources regarding rape in the queer and transgender communities.

Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder: A strong article on PTSD as it relates to survivors. A must-read for people that are just starting the recovery process.

Same-Sex Rape and Sexual Assault Article

Same-Sex Dating Violence Article

Getting Started on Protecting Your Child from Abuse

I hope this gets you started toward education, help and empowerment.

Tomorrow: Mythbusters: Top 15 Misconceptions About Survivors of Abuse

About womeninstrangeplaces

I am a writer and artist from New York City. I live in Oslo, Norway. I dedicate my work to promoting literacy, experimentation and expression, women's empowerment, and awareness against sexual violence. I do my best to do what my gut tells me at all times, and on weekends, I go dancing.

Leave a Reply

