Posted on

Escapism and Addiction

When I was writing “Swim” I tried really hard not to play up that Lynn was an alcoholic. It’s a clear fact throughout the story of course, and she refers to it often, but the last thing the story is about is her alcoholism.

As I’d said in my video reading, Lynn is the poison form of water. She is an addict that is so addicted, she is aware of herself mainly in some kind of a past tense — in terms of what she should be or used to be like. Isn’t it interesting how the more one escapes from a situation, the more one’s life starts to be built around that situation? An interesting parallel to draw too, is the ways in which Elliot and Lynn reacted to their common grief of Shirley’s passing, and both ended up escapist addicts. (It is important to note that escapism and addiction are related but not attached.) Both of them ran away from pain in two very different directions.

About womeninstrangeplaces

I am a writer and artist from New York City. I live in Oslo, Norway. I dedicate my work to promoting literacy, experimentation and expression, women's empowerment, and awareness against sexual violence. I do my best to do what my gut tells me at all times, and on weekends, I go dancing.

Leave a Reply

