Posted on

Strangebreak!: Alice and her hole

What they never tell you about Alice

And her hole

Is that she ran hard into every mirror possible

On purpose. To be alone.

 

And she said

 

I always want life before surprises …

I want to be ignorant before the moment of truth again

I want to have no hope

only to be restoked

resatisfied and reoverjoyed again

 

I don’t like the other side of the hill

the full-view from the top that has no shadows

no bends tricks or turns

 

I want to not know and then suddenly know

for the sky to beam and make my heart glow and then

all is revealed, just briefly

before I start the march again.

 

Back through shadow, running under sun.

Happily, marvelously

alone

(c) Celeste Ramos, 2009

from Women in Strange Places: Stories

Dig it? Buy it. You’ll love it even more.

About womeninstrangeplaces

I am a writer and artist from New York City. I live in Oslo, Norway. I dedicate my work to promoting literacy, experimentation and expression, women's empowerment, and awareness against sexual violence. I do my best to do what my gut tells me at all times, and on weekends, I go dancing.

Leave a Reply

