Posted on

Sounds of Dreams

While writing “The Tie“, I had a few songs on loop that helped me with the atmosphere and the imagery. But the song that started the whole thing, was “Untrue” by Burial. The sound style is called “dubstep”, huger in the UK than it is here (as most cool music is I guess). The song scared the ever loving shit out of me, and still does, and I don’t know why. The only thing I could think of was someone singing after being buried alive. Then the landscape changed in my head and I kept seeing an abandoned industrial wasteland. And the story built from there. “Stella” isn’t really a person, to me, she’s just a song. But I do dedicate all these to her and Adrienne.

The rest of the tunes here are good for a brooding mood, particularly the last one, but do watch the “Believe” vid for the Chemical Brothers… SO FUCKED. I love it.

Enjoy.

Your friend to the left.

Tomorrow: Dream Interpretation and Psychology

About womeninstrangeplaces

I am a writer and artist from New York City. I live in Oslo, Norway. I dedicate my work to promoting literacy, experimentation and expression, women's empowerment, and awareness against sexual violence. I do my best to do what my gut tells me at all times, and on weekends, I go dancing.

One response to “Sounds of Dreams

  1. Sar

    Can I just say how much I LOVE Radiohead (they and many other British bands ruled my walkman back in highschool).
    Furthermore the influence of music, where would we be without it?!

Leave a Reply

