Posted on

Dreams

All humans and most animals dream.

Why do we dream? In short, no one knows. This article discusses a few different theories as to why we dream. Some people believe dreams are pointless, and are just a physiological and psychological Broadway show. Others feel that dreams do in fact have meaning, and have many subtle and overt clues for the messages behind them.

Freud, your friend and mine, wrote The Interpretation of Dreams to present his ideas that dreams were psychological wish fulfillments. Others believe dreams have a spiritual center, and can even predict the future. What do you think?

Let’s experiment with our brains shall we? Welcome to the land of Lucid Dreaming, something that Adrienne engages in in “The Tie“. In lucid dreams, you are aware that you’re dreaming, and can therefore control everything that is going on. There are several ways to induce this, found here. That shit has always fascinated and scared the hell out of me. If you come up with anything cool, PLEASE let me know!!!

This is another good site for helping to remember your dreams, and also touches on lucid dreaming.

For interpretation of dreams, there are many sites out there but as a serious dream interpretation fan, I swear by our friends at Dream Moods.

That should give you plenty of brain cells, multiple selves and astral planes to tinker with for a while. Enjoy 🙂

Tomorrow: Nightmares

About womeninstrangeplaces

I am a writer and artist from New York City. I live in Oslo, Norway. I dedicate my work to promoting literacy, experimentation and expression, women's empowerment, and awareness against sexual violence. I do my best to do what my gut tells me at all times, and on weekends, I go dancing.

One response to “Dreams

  1. My reality testing technique is to look at a newspaper, a page from a book, or something with a large amount of text. My brain can’t create that much text all at once to fill in the dream, so there will be blank or wavy/changing spots in the newspaper/book. Then I know it’s a dream and I can start controlling things and having fun.

    If you haven’t seen the movie “Waking Life”, check it out. Very interesting, although somewhat dense. Takes a few viewings in order to really start absorbing the ideas.

Leave a Reply

