Posted on

Fire!

Happy 4th of July all. Let’s start this pyromania thing off right.

Enjoy the musical stylings of The Crazy World of Arthur Brown, with, “Fire”. This is a song I jammed to when I was thinking up Mia’s character. I first heard it off the Hot Fuzz soundtrack. Kickass movie.

Pyromania

Now that you have that song in your head for two thousand years.

What is pyromania? Our ever-knowing friends at Wikipedia define it best: pyromania is an impulse to deliberately start fire to relieve tension and typically includes feelings of gratification or relief afterward.

As sexy and glorified as it is made out to be in the movies (and, admittedly, a little bit in my book hehe) it is actually a rare disorder. Also, contrary to popular belief, it’s not always used as a way to cover things up or try to get money, as the Pyromania Disorder Information Sheet tells us. If you ask me, I think it sounds like a fetish, more than a psychological disorder, though I’m quite aware that it is a disorder. To worship the sight of fire, the relief, and also to see what people have to do in reaction to fire, has a little of the mechanics of watching and being aroused by a sex act. What do you think?

Here’s an interesting abstract/article on fire fetishism, from the Canadian Psychiatric Association. Scroll to the bottom for “Fire Fetishism in a Female Arsonist?”

Tomorrow: Eminent domain in American society, and the start of multi-entry exploration into the Crazy Ex.

Be safe and enjoy the weekend!

About womeninstrangeplaces

I am a writer and artist from New York City. I live in Oslo, Norway. I dedicate my work to promoting literacy, experimentation and expression, women's empowerment, and awareness against sexual violence. I do my best to do what my gut tells me at all times, and on weekends, I go dancing.

Leave a Reply

