Posted on

winspiration: women involved and growing

As part of an ongoing project, I’m asking women questions about their lives and what makes them tick. In this round, these are questions I’ve asked.

1 – What makes you feel successful?
2 – What’s your biggest accomplishment so far?
3 – What do you love most about yourself?
4 – Do you have a motto you tell yourself to get yourself moving and doing that you’d like to share?

Woman 1

1. The process of awakening.
2. Motherhood, definitely. To bring life into the world, and the lessons learned from it, are amazing.
3. My compassionate nature
4. For every good there is a bad, for every bad there is a good. This is strongly inspiring to me!

Woman 2

1. when i remain positive even when surrounded by negativity
2. my family…my kids so far are beautiful loving souls.
3. strong &loving personality. Also being forgiving has given me so much more then i ever thought.
4. i am gonna make my day a good one. Isay this to myself that iam in control….sometimes i really need the reminder.

Woman 3

1. I’ve learned to not worry about “success” or feeling “successful”, and instead to focus on the journey. This has to do with both living in the moment and living for the future, but without worrying too much about goals and accomplishments per se. Every life is different, and every part of life has its own challenges, experiences, insights, and rewards to offer.

2. Again, this is hard to answer, because if I think in terms of accomplishment, I always feel very unaccomplished. But if pressed, I think I would look to two places: my own soul-making (theosis), and networks of relationality (not just specific relationships with other people, but also capacities to nurture relationship, whether between myself and others, or between two other parties, or even institutional relationships or relations of ideas, if that makes sense).

3. That’s a hard one. Everything has to be loved into existence, so I think what I love most about myself changes and has to do with the places I see God working in or through me. Also, because the self is so relational, I think that loving myself is actually located outside me, in the world around me, in relationships.

4. “Sculpt the negative space,” which means, “Exploit your weaknesses.” I coined both of these in college after doing an art project where I chose to work with negative space because of my terrible lack of precision working with the positive space.

Woman 4

1. Completing a writing project or a work day with the knowledge that I’ve completed tasks correctly and to the best of my ability gives my a certain sense of satisfaction.
2. This is a difficult question because I honestly don’t feel like I have accomplished anything worthwhile in my life up to this point. I suppose I just have to keep trying and hope that someday I might arrive at a milestone worth mentioning.
3. My sense of independence: I like the fact that relying on others is something I only do as a last resort because doing so allows me to place my hope/faith in my own strength.
4.My path is my own. No one can walk it for me.

1. Completing a writing project or a work day with the knowledge that I’ve completed tasks correctly and to the best of my ability gives my a certain sense of satisfaction.
2. This is a difficult question because I honestly don’t feel like I have accomplished anything worthwhile in my life up to this point. I suppose I just have to keep trying and hope that someday I might arrive at a milestone worth mentioning.
3. My sense of independence: I like the fact that relying on others is something I only do as a last resort because doing so allows me to place my hope/faith in my own strength.
4.My path is my own. No one can walk it for me.

Tomorrow: “women and the media – say what?!”

About womeninstrangeplaces

I am a writer and artist from New York City. I live in Oslo, Norway. I dedicate my work to promoting literacy, experimentation and expression, women's empowerment, and awareness against sexual violence. I do my best to do what my gut tells me at all times, and on weekends, I go dancing.

Leave a Reply

